Mass Surveillance

Five Eyes

1. Australia
2. Canada
3. New Zealand
4. United Kingdom
5. United States of America

    Nine Eyes

    1. Denmark
    2. France
    3. Netherlands
    4. Norway

      Fourteen Eyes

      1. Belgium
      2. Germany
      3. Italy
      4. Spain
      5. Sweden

        Global Mass Surveillance - The Fourteen Eyes

        The UKUSA Agreement is an agreement between the United Kingdom, United States, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand to cooperatively collect, analyze, and share intelligence. Members of this group, known as the Five Eyes, focus on gathering and analyzing intelligence from different parts of the world. While Five Eyes countries have agreed to not spy on each other as adversaries, leaks by Snowden have revealed that some Five Eyes members monitor each other's citizens and share intelligence to avoid breaking domestic laws that prohibit them from spying on their own citizens. The Five Eyes alliance also cooperates with groups of third-party countries to share intelligence (forming the Nine Eyes and Fourteen Eyes); however, Five Eyes and third-party countries can and do spy on each other.

        Key Disclosure Laws Apply

        1. Antigua & Barbuda
        2. Australia
        3. France
        4. India
        5. Ireland
        6. Norway
        7. Russia
        8. South Africa
        9. United Kingdom

          Key Disclosure Laws may apply

          1. Belgium
          2. Estonia
          3. Finland
          4. New Zealand
          5. Netherlands
          6. Sweden
          7. United States

            Key Disclosure Laws don't apply

            1. Canada
            2. Czech Republic
            3. Germany
            4. Iceland
            5. Italy
            6. Poland
            7. Switzerland

              Who is required to hand over the encryption keys to authorities?

              Mandatory key disclosure laws require individuals to turn over encryption keys to law enforcement conducting a criminal investigation. How these laws are implemented (who may be legally compelled to assist) vary from nation to nation, but a warrant is generally required. Defenses against key disclosure laws include steganography and encrypting data in a way that provides plausible deniability.


              Swivro is an organization focused on transparency, cybersecurity, and online privacy. We do our best to help you restore & retain your online privacy.